Starting Over Again by Christine Duncan

safehouse1 I am officially free to figure out what I want to do with my first book. It’s not as much a relief as I thought it would be. My print publisher, who held both electronic and print rights on my first book, as well as print rights on my second book, which is still out electronically from another publisher, announced earlier this year that she was going out of business. But she wasn’t well, her husband wasn’t well, and she asked all of her authors to give her time. I didn’t think much about it. My own life was a bit busy right then, and by the time I realized I should have heard from her, my emails bounced.
I didn’t know what to do. Heaven forbid I harass her, when she was ill, and besides, I was coming to the end of my real world job and well, I let it slide. Last week, another author from that publishing house contacted me about a book of devotions that I had contributed to. She had all of her rights back and was going to try to get the devotional published elsewhere. Was I interested?
Was I? How did she get her rights when I didn’t have mine?
Long story short, I now, finally have the rights back on both books, in writing. But what to do? I have been in this position before, starting over to find a new publisher, but frankly, it’s different now. Even a few short years back, there was a stigma involved with being self-published. But now, it seems to me to be much more open. Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong.
The problem is that self publishing is so work intensive. You have to promote, promote, promote. And while many small publishers don’t help much with individual titles, they do maintain websites, list your book with places like Amazon, and help by promoting themselves and the books they have for sale overall. As far as I can see, promotion is like the constant drip that can turn into the river, all those bits help.
What to do? What to do?

3 responses to “Starting Over Again by Christine Duncan

  1. Self-publishing is very time consuming and if you have any chance of finding a new publisher you might be better off. On the other hand it’s kind of fun and you do have full control.

  2. I’ve done both. My novel is through a medium sized publisher and my short story trilogy is self-pubbed. Both require a lot of work, but you do have the edge in self-pubbing.

  3. Georgie, are either of them available in e-book form? And do you promote any differently for them?

Leave a Reply

