13, unlucky for some & choosing your subject matter

narelle-thumb12I didn’t want to let OJ’s sentencing pass without comment. Nine years non parole doesn’t sound like much when you consider what he’s actually guilty of but it’s a lot better than nothing. I hope this sentence brings the Brown and Goldman families some peace.

________________________

Back to writing. I want to talk about choosing your subject matter. Specifically, do you choose it or does it choose you? Let me explain.

I had no interest or knowledge of intimate partner homicide until I watched a true crime series which followed the trial of a man convicted of it. What’s more, I didn’t even mean to watch the series. I was channel surfing really late one night and tuned in half way through the second episode. I was so struck by what I saw that I went out and bought the DVD box set the next day. Watching the series led me to writing to the convicted man which lead me to researching the topic. Since then I’ve joined the Domestic Violence Coalition Committee (a group which advocates domestic homicide investigation reform), written an information booklet for the DVCC and published a magazine article highlighting the two faces of intimate homicide.  I can trace it all back to that night in January 2005 when I flicked over to SBS.

My point is, if someone would’ve asked what I’d like to write about, I wouldn’t have said domestic/intimate partner homicide.  Bottom line though, the subject matter resonated with me.  In fact, I couldn’t leave it alone, I needed to know more.

With the holiday season around the corner and the possibility of winding down, can I suggest that you tune in to what lights your creative fire?  Pay attention to whom and what you are fascinated by.  Then, be brave and go with it.  Heck, my family and friends thought I was crazy to become pen pals with a convicted murderer (I can hear you agreeing with them) but I don’t regret it at all.  In fact, it’s been such an enlightening experience.  All I’m saying is…follow your fascination because it could be your next big idea trying desperately to get your attention.

2 responses to “13, unlucky for some & choosing your subject matter

  1. Thanks for the good advice. I need to mull over the ideas in my head…. and see who’s next to kill off! I admire your domestic violence work. Having been a recipient for ONE incident, it’s amazingly scary, churning up emotions hard to identify.

  2. Pingback: 13, unlucky for some & choosing your subject matter « Rule of Three · TV SeRiES

Leave a Reply

